Saint Michael+.jpg

Click HERE for Saints' Chaplet Store
Click HERE for Saint Michael (the Archangel)'s Prayers
Click HERE for Saint Michael (the Archangel)'s Novena

Saint Michael (the Archangel)

Born: Wasn't

Died: Hasn't

Venerated: Christianity, Islam, Judaism

Canonized: Pre-congregation

Feast Day: November 8 (New Calendar Eastern Orthodox)
November 21 (Old Calendar Eastern Orthodox Churches)
September 29 (with Saint Raphael and Saint Gabriel; "Michaelmas")
May 8 (Tridentine Calendar)
12th of each month in Coptic Calendar (Coptic Churches)
Many other local and historical Feasts

Patronages: Against Danger at Sea; Against Temptations; Ambulance Drivers; Artists; Bakers; Bankers/Banking; Barrel Makers; Battle; Boatmen; Coopers; Dying People; Emergency Medical Technician; Fencers; Greek Air Force; Greengrocers; Grocers; Haberdashers; Hatmakers; Hatters; Holy Death; Knights; Mariners; Milleners; Paramedics; Paratroopers; Police Officers; Radiologists; Radiotherapists; Sailors; Security Guards; Sick People; Storms at Sea; Swordsmiths; Watermen
Places: Belarus; England; Germany; Papua, New Guinea; Vatican City; Various Dioceses; Belgium; Toronto, Ontario, Canada; Sibenik, Croatia; Slagelse, Denmark; Italy; Iklin, Malta; Puebla, Mexico; San Miguel de Allende, Mexico; Philippines; Puerto Rico

Representation: Balance (helping to judge at the Last Judgement); Banner (as the leader of the army of God); Dragon (representing the defeated devil); Scales (helping to judge at the Last Judgement); Sword (as a soldier of God)

The Archangels (Saints Michael, Gabriel and Raphael)
Saint Michael - Patron of Policemen
Saint Gabriel - Patron of Communications Workers
Saint Raphael - Patron of Travelers

Angels are spirits without bodies, who possess superior intelligence, gigantic strength, and surpassing holiness.  They enjoy an intimate relationship to God as His special adopted children, contemplating, loving, and praising Him in heaven.  Some of them are frequently sent as messengers to men from on high.

This feast celebrates three Angels who were sent by God to man over the course of the ages: Michael, Gabriel, and Raphael.  They are termed Archangels, the second of nine choirs of Angels, which are in descending order: Seraphim, Cherubim, Thrones, Dominations, Virtues, Powers, Principalities, Archangels, and Angels.

The name Michael signifies "Who is like to God?" and was the war cry of the good Angels in the battle fought in heaven against Satan and his followers.  Holy Scripture describes Saint Michael as "one of the chief princes," and as leader of the forces of heaven in their triumph over the powers of hell.  He has been especially honored and invoked as patron and protector of the Church from the time of the Apostles.  Although he is always called "the Archangel," the Green Fathers and many others place him over all the Angels - as Prince of the Seraphim.

The name Gabriel means "man of God," or "God has shown Himself mighty."  It appears first in the prophecies of Daniel in the Old Testament.  This Angel announced to Daniel the prophecy of the seventy weeks (Daniel 9:21-27).  His name also occurs in the apocryphal book of Henoch.  He was the Angel who appeared to Zechariah to announce the birth of Saint John the Baptist (Luke 1:11).  Finally, he announced to Mary that she would bear a Son Who would be conceived of the Holy Spirit, Son of the Most High, and the Savior of the world (Luke 1:26).

The name Raphael means "God has healed."  This Angel first appears in Holy Scripture in the Book of Tobit.  He acts as a guide to young Tobiah on his journey to Rages, a city in the country of the Medes, east of Nineveh, to collect a debt owed to his father.  The Angel binds the demon Asmodeus in the desert of Egypt, helps Tobiah to find a wife and recover the debt, and heals Tobit from his blindness.  He then reveals his identity: "I am the Angel Raphael, one of the seven who stand before the throne of God."

For Further Information About Saint Michael (the Archangel), See CatholicSaints.Info Website

Prayer: God, with great wisdom You direct the ministry of Angels and men.  Grant that those who always minister to You in heaven may defend us during our life on earth.  Amen.