Sorrowful Mother+.jpg

Click HERE for the Chaplet of Seven Sorrows of the Virgin Mary Prayers

Our Lady of Seven Sorrows


Venerated: Roman Catholic Church

Feast: September 15

Attibutes: Blessed Virgin Mary in mournful state
Bleeding heart pierced by seven daggers

Patronages: Slovakia
Seven Sorrows of Mary
Tanawan Bustos

It received approval through the grant of indulgences by Pope Benedict XII, Pope Clement XII, and Pope Clement XIII.

This chaplet may be said over a week, concentrating on one sorrow each day, or may be said at one time.

This devotion goes back to the Middle Ages but has gained new popularity following the Church-approved Marian apparitions in Kibeho, Rwanda in the 1980s.  In her apparitions, Our Lady of Kibeho recommended that people pray the Chaplet (or Rosary) of the Seven Sorrows to obtain the favor of repentance.

Father Leszek Czelusniak, MIC, who is in charge of the Marian mission in Rwanda, interviewed Nathalie, one of the visionaries of Kibeho and asked her to summarize the messages of Mary. Here was Nathalie's response:

"The Holy Virgin insisted on the need for prayer.  She said that the world is bad.  It is necessary to pray, to pray, to pray a lot for this world that is bad, to pray for sinners, to pray for their conversion.  She insisted a lot on the need for conversion: Convert to God!  Convert to God!  Convert to God!  While saying that people don't respect God's commands, that people have a hard heart, she also asked us to meditate on the mysteries of the Rosary and to recite it every day.  She also taught us the Rosary of the Seven Sorrows.  She asked us to pray it every Tuesday and Friday. She asked us to obey the Church, to love God in truth, and to love our neighbor in humility and simplicity. She spoke of the need for mortification, a spirit of penitence and sacrifice.  She also spoke of the need for suffering, to bear our sufferings every day.  She said that no one enters heaven without suffering.  She also told us that acts of charity for the poor make us beautiful flowers that God likes.  She wanted a chapel to be constructed here in Kibeho, so everyone would remember her visit and pray for the Church and religious.  Holy Mary spoke to us in Kinyarwanda (the language of Rwanda) with her very soft voice."

The Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows reminds us that Mary plays a key role in our redemption and that she suffered along with her Son Jesus to save us.